Top ten albums 2008 – prologue

I know it’s March already, but I couldn’t make myself finish writing this summary of 2008, even though my final list was ready in last days of December. On the other hand it’s never too late to catch up with good albums, so if you are not familiar with the ones I’m gonna present in this new ‘series’ – give them a try!

There was plenty of good music in 2008. Lots of new fresh artists and thrilling discoveries. I would like to present you my ten favourite albums. Before I do that, let’s have a look at great albums that didn’t make it to my top ten:

Madonna - Hard Candy

Madonna - Hard Candy

There are some great songs, like ‘Candy Shop’, ‘Give It 2 Me’ or ‘Beat Goes On’.
There are some surprising tracks, like ‘She’s Not Me’ or ‘Incredible’.
All of them are produced by Pharrell.
And there are some – let’s face the fact – boring and predictable songs created by Timbaland and Justin.
But still, the album is good. The thing is I know it could have been so much better! More Pharrell, less Timbaland and Justin. NO Timbaland and Justin.
Top 3 songs from the album: Give It 2 Me, 4 Minutes, She’s Not Me

Grace Jones - Hurricane

Grace Jones - Hurricane

The album is filled with Grace’s strength and self-confidence. That’s why the songs are so powerful. Maybe I haven’t become the biggest fan of Grace Jones, but I understood that she’s a strong artist who can inspire. Very good album, I can’t really say anything bad about it.
Top 3 songs from the album:
Corporate Cannibal, Hurricane, Devil In My Life

Goldfrapp - Seventh Tree

Goldfrapp - Seventh Tree

Dreamy, gentle songs with Alison’s airy vocals sound all very nice, but I prefer Goldfrapp in glam-electro. On their two previous albums they are hypnotizing; Seventh Tree lacks excitement… I mean, the album is great if you are in the very specific mood – if you’re not, it is nothing but boring.
Top 3 songs from the album: Happiness, Road To Somewhere, Caravan Girl

Oszibarack - Plim Plum Plam

Oszibarack - Plim Plum Plam

Less minimalist, yet just as raw as on a terrific debut album Moshi Moshi. Involving more live instruments in their music was a good step; I also adore all those cinematic sounds. Still, I think that it is the unique playful voice of Patrycja Hefczyńska that make them sound so distinctive. If you need a boost of pure energy – just listen to Plim Plum Plam!
Top 3 songs from the album:
Anchor Up, Surfin’ Safari, Point Blank

Dido - Safe Trip Home

Dido - Safe Trip Home

Dido is an established artist who hasn’t failed to provide beautiful, smart songs over the last ten years. Maybe it’s why this album wasn’t that thrilling as I knew what to expect. It doesn’t change the fact that I shed a few tears over moving lyrics sung in amazingly introvertive way… Flawless record.
Top 3 songs from the album: Northern Skies, Let’s Do The Things We Normally Do, Never Want To Say It’s Love

Crystal Castles - Crystal Castles

Crystal Castles - Crystal Castles

Hate them or love them. Personally, I got stuck somewhere in between. I really enjoy all these cyber-sounds, they (or rather: he) can actually make melodic songs out of them and this is brilliant. But some of the tracks from their self-titled album is a crappy noise (‘XXZXCUZX Me’ – a title speaks for itself) and if this is called ‘music’… that’s a devaluation of this word. Another disadvantages of the album: Alice’s voice (hate it or love it – in this case I’m on a ‘hate’ side) and repetitiveness (there are only that many sounds you can get out of Atari 5200).
Top 3 songs from the album:
Crimewave, Magic Spells, Courtship Dating

Inara George & Van Dyke Parks - An Invitation

Inara George & Van Dyke Parks - An Invitation

It’s a really interesting and original album. Sometimes I can listen to it on repeat, sometimes I have enough after a couple of songs. On this record there is only Inara’s voice (you can know her from The Bird and The Bee) and Van Dyke Parks’ orchestra. It sounds like a psychedelic versions of very old Disney’s songs. There are moments when I feel uncomfortable listening to some songs – the vocals are arranged in a bizarre way. Hm. I still haven’t really got into the album yet, but I there’s something special about it that makes me want to listen more.
Top 3 songs from the album: Duet, Idaho, Dirty White

  1. May 12th, 2009

Leave a Reply

