Dull flame of desire

Björk

Björk in 'Dull Flame of Desire' music video

To be honest, I wasn’t aware that Björk released a fifth single from Volta until last week. In my opinion, ‘Dull Flame of Desire’ featuring Antony Hegarty is one the most beautiful love songs ever made: intimate lyrics, breath-taking performances from both singers and raw, pulsing rhythm. To see a bigger picture you should listen to the 7:30 album version, but today I want to tell you about the music video and a great remix made for the song.

Let Björk speak for herself about the video:

When we did the competition for “Innocence”, where all the fans sent in videos, they sent in like 400 videos. There were some that I thought were amazing, made by really talented visual people who had maybe never done this before, but they didn’t totally fit with the mood of “Innocence”. So I contacted them and asked them if they would work together and do [“Dull Flame of Desire”]. In that song, we repeat the same verse over and over again. So I thought it would be interesting to have one verse presented by one director, and then the second by another director, and then the third by another. I had never done that before, and it was quite exciting.

We recorded our part in front of a green screen, and sent it by email to the directors, one in Japan, one in Spain, and one in Germany. They’re collaborating via email. I don’t know how long it will take. I was being pressured by my record company [to make videos] for the more up-tempo songs, but I have great love for “Dull Flame of Desire”, and it was very emotionally special for me to make that with Antony. I thought this would be a good way of doing it.

As you already know, the video is divided into three parts. Well, the first and the third one are probably more creative, but I don’t like them even half as much as I do the middle part. The use of threshold effect is so simple, yet so powerful! See for yourself:

Modeselektor made two remixes of ‘Dull Flame of Desire’: ‘for girls’ and ‘for boys‘. I don’t know why they are gendered – I guess that it’s based on smooth/raw opposition. The one for girls is a lot better than the other one. I like the way it sets the mood and plays with the word ‘sparkling’. Check it out:

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

