Lights flashing

Calvin Harris

Calvin Harris

Now that’s what I call a hit. ‘I’m Not Alone’ is one of the best dance recordings that I’ve heard in a long time. That’s why it came as a surprise to me that it’s a track from Scottish singer/songwriter/producer Calvin Harris whose previous singles (‘Girls’, ‘Acceptable in the ’80s’) I didn’t like at all.

‘I’m Not Alone’ switches from melancholic ballad à la Snow Patrol to euphoric dance tune reminiscing ’90s rave anthems. I’m always attracted to dance songs that have a nostalgic note in them:

It’s about feeling too old to go clubbing – says Harris –  I’m 25 now and it does feel a lot older than when I was having my first hit aged 22.

Calvin’s song debuted at #1 on UK singles chart knocking off ridiculous ‘Poker Face’ by even more ridiculous Lady GaGa (thank you, Calvin Harris!). I bet it’s gonna stay there for some time.

    • Ola
    • April 20th, 2009

    Great song! Little bit of melancholy with dance music= the best mixture:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

