Top 10 albums of 2008: part 1 (of 2)

topalbums1

Now that I’m in the holiday zone finally, I can listen to all the music, watch all the music videos, and write on the blog without the feeling I should be studying for the exams. So here I return again (it comes in waves, doesn’t it?) with new posts.

I have never managed to finish my ‘top ten albums of 2008’, so I’ll do it now, in two post (I’d better write both of them right now just to make sure they will appear on my blog soon). I changed positions of some albums in the former ranking, but the very top ones are still.

♪  ♫  ♪ ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

#10
MGMT
Oracular Spectacular

myspace.com/mgmt

Oracular Spectacular

Oracular Spectacular

Oracular Spectacular made it to 2008’s top ten albums in most of the important music magazines and websites. But is it really that amazing? Let’s face the fact – there are only three terrific songs on this album: ‘Time to pretend’, ‘Electric feel’ and ‘Kids’. All the singles. The other tracks are good enough to make the album decent as a whole. So I would rather say that MGMT was brilliantly marketed than concider it as a revelation. On the other hand, it made it to my personal top ten, so there must be something to it.

Top 3 tracks: Time to pretend, Electric Feel, Kids

♪  ♫  ♪ ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

#9
Silver Rocket
Tesla
myspace.com/silverrocketpl

Tesla

Tesla

Tesla is an amazing concept album that tells the story of a Serbian scientist. Silver Rocket is a Polish project that gathers great musicians together (amongst the others: Marsija and Tomek Ziętek from Loco Star; Tomek Makowiecki). Beautiful melodies, airy arrangements, instruments profusion, and stunning vocal performances from Tomek Makowiecki and – most importantly, as she is one of my favourite vocalists ever – Marsija. Breathtaking musical landscapes.

Top 3 tracks: If, New Yorker, Space Oddity

♪  ♫  ♪ ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

#8
Erykah Badu
New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)

myspace.com/erykahbadu

New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)

New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)

Even though these days I’m not into black music as I used to be a few years ago, Erykah’s album takes me for an adventurous journey every time I listen to it. Soulful vocals, experimental attitude, incredible production – New Amerykah… is full of that. Semi-oldschool, positive ‘Honey’ on one side, dark and disturbing ‘Twinkle’ on the other, with a tribal ‘My people’ in between. And since I was at Erykah’s almost mystical concert, the album has an extra dimension for me. It’s partially a masterpiece.

Top 3 tracks: Twinkle, Soldier, The Cell

♪  ♫  ♪ ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

#7
Sam Sparro
Sam Sparro

myspace.com/samsparro

Sam Sparro

Sam Sparro

At first this album was at #9 as I’m aware that it may not be produced in a highest quality ever, but at some point I got so inspired by Sparro’s music and style that I needed to change the ranking a bit so it would reflect my musical year more accurately. The main strength of Sam Sparro’s self-titled album is his charismatic voice (three-octave range!) that I absolutely adore. It makes the glorious mix of electro-funk, synthpop and soulful disco so distinctive. I guess I’ve expressed my admiration for Sam a few times on my blog, so not wanting to exaggerate I’d better finish this mini-review right now.

Top 3 tracks: Cut me loose, Black & gold, Sally

♪  ♫  ♪ ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

#6
Psapp
The Camel’s back
myspace.com/psapp

The Camel's Back

The Camel's Back

Since the moment I discovered Psapp thanks to charming ‘Cosy in the rocket’ featured in the opening sequence of Grey’s Anatomy series, I have instantly fallen in love with them. And I by saying ‘in love’ I mean a steady, happy, long-lasting relationship. On The Camel’s Back, duo’s third LP, they enriched they minimalist toytronica with more actual music instruments. As a result, their sound is more dynamic, powerful and deep, but it still has their unique cosy vibe.

Top 3 tracks: I want that, Parker, Marshrat

♪  ♫  ♪ ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

The final top 5 albums of 2008 are coming soon.

  1. May 12th, 2009

Leave a Reply

