Remixed: Fred Falke

Fred Falke

Fred Falke

Today, I introduce a new category of posts on my blog. In Remixed: … I will present amazing work of my favourite remixers.

The first one that I’m going to present is Fred Falke. Actually, I discovered him not so long ago, but I’m impressed with his work on ‘New in Town’ by Little Boots and ‘Anthonio’ by Annie. Both of them are shown further in this post.

The remixes I like the most are the ones changing the vibe/character of the song or expose elements that aren’t present in the foreground in the original version. It happened several times to me that I hadn’t liked the original of the song until I heard the remix and discovered this special something that made me change my mind.

In this case, I liked both ‘Anthonio’ and ‘New in Town’ very much from the very beginning. However, as I have already mentioned before, I am impressed how Fred Falke has changed them.

‘Anthonio’ by Annie has a nostalgic disco vibe that hypnotises since the very first beat. In Falke’s remix there’s more air and light, the stifle tension is gone. Perfect for summer outside the night club (well, that’s quite funny when the vibe is juxtaposed with lyrics).

‘New in Town’ by Little Boots is a catchy, radio friendly electropop piece. Fred made it sound less friendly. The first thing that comes to my mind listening to this remix is wandering alone around the city at dark night passing people coming back from parties. There some vibe of mystery as well.

    • magda
    • May 26th, 2009

    ha, to przecie mój pomysł! miałeś pisać o tym do Poczekalni! zdrajca ;P

    • magda
    • May 27th, 2009

    w Poczekalni też mógłbyś zrobić serial w odcinkach 🙂 ale skoro już zrobiłeś tutaj, możesz pomyśleć o czymś innym w Poczekalni od września, hm?

    • magda
    • June 7th, 2009

    kiedy już regularnie zaglądam na Twojego bloga to Ty jak na złość nic tu nie zamieszczasz! to ma być jakiś test wierności? hę?

    • raul
    • June 9th, 2009

    check out his remix of whitest boy alive’s golden cage–it’s my favorite

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

