Guilty pleasure? Not really.

Little Boots

Little Boots

Little Boots‘ album was quite a disappointment for me. I didn’t found any good tunes except of these I’d already known (‘New In Town’, ‘Meddle’ and ‘Stuck On Repeat’ – and I can’t understand why she put an edited version of this song on the album…).

And except of ‘Remedy’ (the next single).

I’ve been struggling with this song for over a week now. In the beginning there is a cool electro vibe that continues throughout the verses. Then, it turns into a catchy electropop in the first part of the chorus – we’ve got a really great song so far.
BUT here comes the second part of the chorus! Doesn’t it sound cheesy? And the bridge? Come on…
That’s why I couldn’t make up my mind about that song. Partially a pop masterpiece, partially a misunderstanding. It hasn’t stop me from listening to the song again and again, though.

Eventually, I came to decision that the song… rocks! Cheesy or not, it makes me sing along with Victoria, it’s a completely irresistible feeling. Actually, I think that including the cheesy parts was intended. The only thing that worries me a bit is that the song was produced by RedOne who produces ‘Poker Face’ and ‘Just Dance’ for Lady GaGa who I truly despise. On the other hand, Little Boots is charismatic and classy, opposite to sleazy and ridiculous Lady Gaga, so the performer really matters in this case.

Check it for yourself and make your own judgment:

    • magda
    • June 18th, 2009

    it’s not pleasure at all! absolute disaster.. i can hear lady gaga’s shadow on this one. moreover – when the chorus starts i feel as if i were listening to some disco polo bands of our great ’90. bleh. remind me please once more – why we are doing a video to little boots’ song?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

