Heineken Open’er Festival 2009

Heineken

Now, that I got some sleep, I can tell you about this year’s Open’er Fesitival (that’s quite a long post, I’m warning you!)

D A Y  1

The first concert I saw that day was Peter, Bjorn & John and to be honest they were nothing special. I know only one song by them – ‘Young Folks’ – but I haven’t heard it as I went with my friend to see Arctic Monkeys.
I’m not too keen on them, but the concert was quite okay, even though they had problems with the sound twice.
Next, I run to see Late of the Pier – the band I have already written about – and they were fabulous! They are my biggest discovery from the Open’er. It’s a pity I didn’t stay for the whole gig, but I wanted to be quite close to the stage for Basement Jaxx.
They had some technical problems as well, but Felix was improvising and he was so damn good at it! All the singers – especially lovely Vula – were the vulcanoes of energy, so I couldn’t resist jumping, shouting and dancing. The concert wasn’t as good as the one I’ve been to three years ago, but it was still great. I was only a bit disappointed ’cause they didn’t perform ‘Raindrops’.

Late of the Pier (everyone simply LOVED the guy on the left!)

Late of the Pier (everyone simply LOVED the guy on the left!)

Basement Jaxx (in the picture: Vula)

Basement Jaxx (in the picture: Vula)

D A Y  2

The second day started with an amazing performance by Gossip that was one of the best concerts at this year’s festival in my opinion. Beth is a one lovely lady and she has an irresistible charisma. And damn good vocal skills! The crowd just loved them. From me they got extra points for performing a cover of Aaliyah’s song ‘Are you that somebody’. And when Beth came down from the stage to walk along the corridor, I saw her from two meters distance! Woohoo!
Next, I run to see Gaba Kulka, a Polish artist with a really good voice, but I’m not convinced if she was the right choice for the festival – her music didn’t exactly fit in. Her gig was good, though.
After that I stayed in a tent stage to see Duffy. I wasn’t too familiar with her music as I knew only three songs. So it came as a nice surprise that her performance was brilliant. Great voice, image, stage presence – she showed a lot of class. I’m gonna get to know her music better.
After that I had some free time, so I saw a few songs by Moby, but for me he’s an artists that lacks charisma completely, so I got bored really quickly.
I went to the tens stage again to see Crystal Castles. The light were off and so were the screens. When they started playing it was like a overwhelming chaotic noise. And Alice’s ‘singing’… that was too much for me. I can understand what’s so appealing about them, it’s just me who isn’t attracted to this at all. I just can’t stand this girl. But a friend of mine is a true fan (actually, quite a few of my friends are true fans of them) and he was in a first row at the gig. When I met him afterwards he was absolutely excited, because he took Alice in his arms and lifted her up (they had some more moments together, but this is the most spectacular one). Quite an adventure, isn’t it?

Gossip (in the picture: Beth)

Gossip (in the picture: Beth)

Duffy

Duffy

Crystal Castles (in the picture: Alice)

Crystal Castles (in the picture: Alice)

D A Y  3

Starting with Emilliana Torrini who was charming but a bit boring – at least for me who knew only ‘Jungle Drum’. She was touched with the audience’s reaction so much that she started crying a little. Ain’t it sweet?
Then, I stayed for White Lies who were strangers for me by that time and I didn’t know a single song (I’ve found out about ‘Death’ remixed by Crystal Castles afterwards) and I didn’t have much fun. Actually, I didn’t like the vocals at all. I’m not saying they were bad, it’s just not my cup of tea, that’s all.
Later on, I was wandering around the stages and food stalls for some time, I listened to a few tracks by Pendulum, but again – this isn’t my thing. As you can see I wasn’t having much fun that day, but the situation changed with a hypnotizing M83 performance. They played ‘We own the sky’ almost in the beginning and my favourite ‘Coulours’ in the end – that was awesome!
The concert I was looking forward to that day was Buraka Som Sistema, but due to flights delays there were rescheduled for the next day and that made the fourth day even more packed with gigs I wanted to see…

M83

M83

D A Y  4

So… I wanted to see Priscialla Ahn that day (I really like her song ‘Dream’) but I didn’t manage to be on time – it was the most crowded day (the Prodigy and Kings of Leon fans!). She started at 19.00, Buraka Som Sistema were playing at 19.30 (on other stage, obviously), then Lily Allen at 20.00 and Santigold at 21.00… I was at the festival at 19.40 so I run to see at least one song by Buraka Som Sistema and I was there by the time they were singing the last chorus of ‘Aqui para voce’. Then, I had to run back to the main stage to see Lily Allen.
Her singing was okay, but the contact with the audience wasn’t too good. I really like her as an artist, but her concert was dull and was missing the soul and charisma of Lily from the albums. That’s why I decided to skip the ending of her concert to be on time on Santigold – one of the gigs I anticipated the most.
I had a cool place, just by the stage and I had a great time. Santi was looking sexy (in indie way, of course), her vocals were just as good – if not better – as on the album, and the girls from her SQ1 simply rocked! The performance was perfect, I was dancing and singing like crazy.
Next, I went to see Kings of Leon who were painfully boring. There is absolutely nothing special about them, they are just plain. I’m not a fan of rock music, but I had great time on many rock concerts – definitely not on this one. I moved to the tent stage again rather quickly to see the Ting Tings. And there came a nice surprise – I felt the vibe and I had so much fun! A really good gig!
Finally, we were waiting to see the Prodigy. Actually, I was a bit scared when I saw a warning on the screens saying that the level of sound will be increased and it may be harmful for your hearing… So I decided to have a place rather distant to the stage. When the guys came on the stage a friend of mine said that she could feel the fear and I knew what she meant ’cause I could say the same thing. When Keith was going to the audience and was disappearing from the screens I was afraid to see him coming back on the stage with a torn head in his head licking the blood… You know what I mean, hehe. They gave a powerful, energetic concert and we were all dancing till the dawn. Dancing wildly, I can tell that! That was a good closing gig.

Lilly Allen

Lilly Allen

Santigold

Santigold

the Ting Tings

the Ting Tings

the Prodigy (in the picture: Keith)

the Prodigy (in the picture: Keith)

To sum up, this year’s Open’er Festival was way better than I expected – mostly thanks to the gigs I wasn’t expecting to be something special for me. Lots of nice surprises. I had the best time on Gossip, Late of the Pier, Santigold, Basement Jaxx, Duffy, M83, the Ting Tings and the Prodigy. I can’t wait for the next year’s one (as usually).

Thanks to Madzia (Grudiiii) and Jędrek who were with me at most of the gigs – you’re the inseparatable parts of the great time I had this year!
Also, big ‘woohoo’ for Julia, Kasia, Zosia and Tomek! Thanks, guys!

all photographs by Joanna Combik from Onet.pl

