Best albums of 2009 – so far (part 1 of 3)

july1

July is coming to an end, let’s have a look at good albums that this year has brought over last 7 months. I’ve found 15 interesting positions, so I will divide the post into three parts so you shouldn’t be overwhelmed.
I’m not rating them yet – all I’m gonna do is to present them in an alphabetic order, give you a hint what it’s all about and post a song, so you can easily decide what you should quickly get familiar with if you haven’t done it so far. Enjoy! /PART 1 of 3/

Au Revoir Simone - Still Night, Still Light

Au Revoir Simone - Still Night, Still Light

Three girls from Brooklyn returned with slightly monotonous album filled with gentle, keyboard-driven songs that flow to your head by one ear and flow out by the other one. In the meantime, you are under a spell of their cosy charm. Highly recommended for dreamers.

myspace.com/aurevoirsimone

Back Ted N-Ted - Hookie EP

Back Ted N-Ted - Hookie EP

If the rest of songs on his album that should be released this year (hopefully soon) is as good as the four songs on Hookie EP, it will end up in my top 10 albums of 2009 for sure. Irresistibly catchy electropop with airy melodies and vivid energy. Keep your eyes on this guy!

myspace.com/backtednted

Bat For Lashes - Two Suns

Bat For Lashes - Two Suns

Natasha Khan went for some synths and electronics on this album, so it was easier for me find the way to appreciate her it. At least a half of it. I like her sense of drama and her concept of the album. And, of course, don’t forget about the terrific ‘Daniel’.

myspace.com/batforlashes

Ciara - Fantasy Ride

Ciara - Fantasy Ride

I was so surprised with this album! All I wanted from Ciara was to deliver me two or three nice hits. What I received was a CD all packed with hits. Mixture of pop, r’n’b, crunk and dance together with Ciara’s charisma is a perfect combination. It was far better than my highest expectations. If you’re looking for delicious, ultimately commercial big hits – you’ve just found them. And her music videos?! Amazing. Since you probably know ‘Love Sex Magic’ and ‘Work’, listen to ‘High Price’ below.

myspace.com/ciara

Ebony Bones! - Bone of My Bones

Ebony Bones! - Bone of My Bones

Many compare her to Santigold and that was my first thought at well. Ebony Bones! didn’t make as good album as Santi (no Diplo factor here), but she’s a one wild lady and quite a few of her songs explodes with crazy energy. The more I listen to the album, the more I like it. But isn’t it always the case?

myspace.com/ebonybones

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

