Grammy nominations

Is anyone excited about 52nd Grammy Awards? Personally, I don’t find them that interesting, but I know they are a big deal in music industry. Just in case you’re not that willing to go through all nominees from 109 categories of Grammy Awards, I will let you know about the most exciting ones in a second.

Let’s start with the most important information… Imogen Heap is nominated in two categories! Best Pop Instrumental Performance for ‘Fire’ and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical for Imogen as an engineer of her ‘Ellipse’, so this is really big one for her! Immi’s brilliance and creativity was noticed, I just wonder why only in two categories…

Record of the Year
Beyoncé – ‘Halo’
The Black Eyed Peas – ‘I Gotta Feeling’
Kings of Leon – ‘Use Somebody’
Lady Gaga – ‘Poker Face’
Taylor Swift – ‘You Belong With Me’

My vote goes to ‘Halo’ – it’s a great song with lots of power and drama in it, and Beyoncé somehow managed not to go over a top with this one. Doubtlessly, it’s the best song from her album (actually, there are only three good songs there – count in ‘Single Ladies’ and ‘Diva’ – the rest of the tracks are awful).
However, the award may go to Lady Gaga, but – I can’t believe I’m saying that – she deserves it as this song was everywhere this year… To be honest, it was definitely Lady Gaga’s year in pop industry.
Taylor Swift is a terrible American vomit, boring and absolutely plain. She’s a big no-no in this group.
And the other two songs – whatever.

Album of the Year
Beyoncé – I Am… Sasha Fierce
The Black Eyed Peas – The E.N.D.
Lady Gaga – Fame
Dave Matthews Band – Big Whiskey And The Groogrux King
Taylor Swift – Fearless

Hmm… I’ve no idea who Dave Matthews Band is and I assume that Taylor Swift doesn’t get any better that her single nominated for the Record of the Year award which means that the whole album is ish. BEP album is really bad and Beyoncé has only three good songs on hers. Lady Gaga – no way. All the nominated albums make no sense to me.

Song of the Year (this award is for songwriters, the Record of the Year goes to artist + producer + recording engineer)
Why is Taylor Swift’s song here AGAIN? There is nothing special about this song, I can’t understand it. The reasonable possible winners are Beyoncé a few guys for ‘Single Ladies’ or Lady Gaga and RedOne for ‘Poker Face’. I’d vote for ‘Poker Face’ – at least it was more interesting than ‘Single Ladies’ that echoes Beyoncé’s previous work heavily.

Best New Artist
The Ting Tings? OK. MGMT? OK. Definitely not Keri Hilson. I’d go for MGMT.

Best Female Pop Vocal Performance
Beyoncé – ‘Halo’
Adele – ‘Hometown Glory’
Pink – ‘Sober’
Katy Perry – ‘Hot N Cold’
Taylor Swift – ‘You Belong With Me’

I have no problem here – Taylor Swift!
And seriuosly, I love ‘Hometown Glory’ and ‘Halo’ so I’d vote for one of these. ‘Hot N Cold’ was a good tune, but vocally it was… well, it wasn’t that bad actually. Still, I’d vote for the two singers mentioned before.
It’s good that Lady Gaga isn’t nominated here.

Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals
MGMT for ‘Kids’ or BEP for ‘I Gotta Feeling’? MGMT, that’s an easy one!

Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals
Ciara and Justin Timberlake for ‘Love Sex Magic’ – I don’t see any other other option here.

Best Dance Recording
The Black Eyed Peas – ‘Boom Boom Pow’
David Guetta & Kelly Rowland – ‘When Love Takes Over’
Lady Gaga – ‘Poker Face’
Madonna – ‘Celebration’
Britney Spears – ‘Womanizer’

Whatever. All of them are equally good, objectively speaking. Unless we’re talking about remixed version of ‘Celebration’ – then the award should definitely go to Madonna!

Best Short Form Music Video
‘Boom Boom Pow’ or ‘Wrong’ by Depeche Mode would be my choice here.

Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical
If Greg Kurstin isn’t getting an award for Lily Allen’s It’s Not Me, It’s You and The Bird and The Bee’s Ray Guns Are Not Just The Future, the jury should be fired.

So, this is just a little extract, I selected information that were interesting to me. Oh, I should mention Yeah Yeah Yeahs It’s Blitz! nomination for Best Alternative Album as my beloved one has just returned from their gig (but seriously, how alternative they are?…).

If you want to see full list of nominees, visit Grammy’s official website.

    • Golubioji
    • December 5th, 2009

    I guess Lady Gaga deserves all Grammys she’s nominated in, as she was EVERYWHERE and her appearance is something… fresh? 😛 However, if Imogen had Lady Gaga’s popularity, she would definetely get much more prizes. And Karen O with Yeah Yeah Yeahs were absolutely AMAZING 😉

    • teppefall
    • December 5th, 2009

    I heavily disagree with you when you say “It’s good that Lady Gaga isn’t nominated here [Best Female Pop Vocal Performance]”, when she’s probably the best on that category (at least she’s way better than any of the nominees).

    As for the ‘Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical’, Greg Kurstin has to get it (and he will, probably with Allen’s record).

    Lastly, I don’t get all the Taylor Swift thingy.. She sucks big time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

