Exciting mystery

For the last month there is quite a big discussion about a viral campaign that appeared on youtube in – so far – three parts. Even though I wanted to post my 2009 summary first (I just can’t finish it off, there’s always something else to do…), I decided I simply have to share information about this media phenomenon, ’cause I would bite my arm off if it turned out that it is what people think it is… Okay, let’s watch the clips first and then I’ll update you on discussion about them…

Date: December 04
Title: Prelude 699130082.451322

Date: January 07
Title: 9.1.13.669321018

Date: January 24
Title: 9.20.19.13.5.723378

AWESOME, isn’t it?!

Majority of people in the comments and forums say that it is a viral campaign for… Christina Aguilera‘s new album! Here are some of their arguments (look into comments for more):

– there were attempts to crack the number in videos’ titles (quote from Popjustice):

title of the first video: Prelude 699130082.451322
6+9+9+1+3+0+0+8+2 = 38 || 4+5+1+3+2+2 = 17
now: A – 1, B – 2, C – 3, D – 4, etc…
38: CH (3 – C, 8 – H)
17: AG (1 – A, 7 – G)
it’s CHristina AGuilera.

– the third video was decoded to: ‘ITSMEC’ – It’s Me, C

– some people argue that you can hear ‘light and darkness’ in third clip (personally, I can’t); as some of you may remember, it was said to be the working title of new album

– theme of the videos goes well with the official title of Christina’s upcoming album – Bionic

Christina is not afraid to shock and experiment (just think of music video for ‘Dirrty’)

Although all of this sounds pretty random, it got me really excited and I wish it’s Aguilera indeed. After all, she worked with Goldfrapp, M.I.A., Santigold, Diplo, Switch, Sia, Ladytron and Ladytron on the new album.

Some people have other guesses like:
– Goldfrapp (but it doesn’t go with the mood set by ‘Rocket’ and cover… and anything, really)
– The Knife or Fever Ray (Since they made music for an opera about the evolution of spieces it make sense, but have you heard ‘Colouring of Pigeons‘ (which is, by the way, extraordinary!)? Doesn’t really make sense now, does it?)

I don’t know what it is, but I know it’s amazing and I want to hear/see more.

If it’s Aguilera… Wow, just imagine her voice + all collaborators I mentioned + the theme that emerges from these clips. Wow.

Whatever it is, I’m (overly) excited!

    • Golubioji
    • January 26th, 2010

    For now – it’s too good to be true. I’d rather go for Fever Ray, but still – it’s an amazing mystery! Nevertheless, I’ve been listening to this ‘tracks’ for whole day now 😉

    • magda
    • January 26th, 2010

    tracks are ok, but they didn’t really get to me. and i’d go for fever ray as well. but maybe – fever ray with christina? why not ;P

  1. It’s too good to be Fever Ray.

    • Golubioji
    • January 26th, 2010

    Nothing good can be too good to be Fever Ray.

    • magda
    • January 26th, 2010

    oh. that was not nice. even though i’m not a big fan

  2. I have nothing against Fever Ray. But it’s just too good to be her. Too exciting, maybe that’s a better word.
    You know what I mean. Don’t pretend it’s otherwise.

    • magda
    • January 27th, 2010

    maybe it’s because You’re not a big fan yourself, so You just don’t expect her to be exciting. anyways – we’ll see 🙂

  1. January 30th, 2010
  2. February 12th, 2010

Leave a Reply

